God Is My Shield

mountain view

You O Lord are a shield for me…

O Lord, I have so many enemies;
    so many are against me.
So many are saying,
    “God will never rescue him!”

But you, O Lord, are a shield around me;
    you are my glory, the one who holds my head high.
 I cried out to the Lord,
    and he answered me from his holy mountain.  Psalm 3:1-4

Many times our circumstances seem overwhelming, our enemies strong. It may be finances, relationships, illness or situations where we find ourselves persecuted for standing for what is right. In those times we can be confident as David was that the Lord is with us, our shield and protector, the One who hears our prayers and has the last word!

Oswald Chambers said this

“The armour is for the battle of prayer. The armour is not to fight in, but to shield us while we pray. Prayer is the battle”.

Today whatever battle you may find yourself in remember He is a shield around you, the One who lifts your head high in the presence of your enemies, and He will not only hear but answer your prayers!

One thought on “God Is My Shield

Leave a comment